Eddie Izzard vows to put Sheffield on the world map.

Eddie Izzard is a personality like no other. The very mention of her name on social media seems to attract a never-ending stream of emotions. Some are devoted fans, many with stories of admiration for Eddie. Others are offended by her inclusion on an all-woman shortlist, despite the fact there isn’t an all-woman shortlist. The party announced months ago that no such lists would be used for the next General Election. They may still be used in future, but as this is a selection process to replace the incumbent MP Paul Blomfield – when he retires at the next General Election, it is clear she is not on any such list. For those still in doubt, she issued a statement reiterating the fact.

Aside from the all-woman shortlist brigade, there’s the she’s a he, he’s a he (or countless other variations on the theme) in response to the slightest mention of her name. No doubt this article will attract more such comments. It has to be said though, there are also many people from Sheffield and beyond that support Izzard. Those on the other side of the argument say they want a local person to be the MP, not in favour of parachuting in someone who doesn’t know the area.

Izzard is certainly the most high-profile name on the longlist of Labour candidates looking to replace the well-respected Paul Blomfield. In a show of solidarity, all six of the Labour candidates issued a  joint statement condemning the abuse levelled at Izzard. Sadly, other candidates have also reported receiving sexist and racist abuse.  Eddie now chooses to use the pronoun she, so that is what I will use. If you don’t like it, take it up with her.

Eddie Izzard’s quest to be an MP isn’t a flight of fancy. Izzard’s roots in the Labour Party run deep. She has campaigned for the party for 15 years in more than 125 constituencies and has donated considerable funds to the cause. She has served as a member of Labour’s ruling National Executive Committee. Many will remember her sharing the stage with Ed Miliband when he became party leader in 2010.

I spoke to Eddie earlier this week. She told me that she understood the views of those wanting a local candidate but set about convincing me of her affinity to the city. Sheffield, she said, was the first city she chose to live in, when she attended Sheffield University. It was during her time in Sheffield that she first took to the stage to perform. She has since performed her routines on many of Sheffield’s most iconic stages – such as the City Hall and the Leadmill. Earlier this year, she added her voice to the campaign to save the popular venue, saying, “The Leadmill started when I was in Uni in Sheffield. It was a great venue then and remains a great beacon for new bands and rock music in Sheffield.”

She told me she loved Sheffield because the people always made her welcome. Already well-travelled by the time she arrived here, she was struck by the kindness of Sheffield folk. She told me in an impressively convincing Sheffield accent that strangers would ask her if she had enough money for the bus fare. If anyone thinks she doesn’t know Sheffield and its people, they are mistaken. She has put in the hard yards. She knows key individuals of charities and organisations across the city, including in communities like Manor Castle – where she has been out and about leaflet dropping and talking to people. She has extensive knowledge of local councillors and acknowledges how hard they work for their communities. “People think I’ll never be here and I’ll be living in London but I won’t. I’ll be here full time, living in Sheffield, that I promise you.” She said.

One area that Eddie has shown her support locally is with the local food bank. She has made donations, taken part in fundraisers, and helped Walkley Labour at their recent foodbank collection on South Road. This is a local flavour of her dedication.

A well-known Labour source added “Eddie is a brave pioneer. She came out as trans in the 80s and has used her profile to raise the voices of the world’s most vulnerable children and raise funds to support them. Now, she is doing the same for families in our community that need it the most.”

It is easy to see why Izzard’s profile positions her uniquely on the global stage. Since her early days on the circuit of Sheffield, her career has seen her live shows move to somewhat bigger arenas, like Madison Square Garden, and that is why Eddie says she can put Sheffield on the world map, using her national profile to promote the city. “I’m not the conventional candidate, but I am the one who will make the biggest impact,” she declared. “I can help to champion Sheffield internationally in a way that other candidates might struggle and, for example, build on our already solid base in the creative industries.”

I asked if the anti-trans agenda could detract from any positive message she tries to share. She told me unequivocally, no. “I’ve always been trans. I was trans 37 years ago. I tried to run 27 marathons in South Africa for Nelson Mandela and I ran 32 marathons in 31 days. I ran all of them wearing lipstick and nail varnish. Trans people have been around for centuries.” There will always be haters, there always has been, but Izzard says she simply ignores the abuse and refuses to let the issue define her. “It’s water off a duck’s back.” She says.

Like many people, I wasn’t sure what to expect from Eddie Izzard. For starters, I didn’t expect her to talk to me – an unknown writer with very little exposure. I was pleasantly surprised that she not only agreed to speak to me, but when I was in a meeting when she called the first time, she made the time to call me at a time that was convenient for me, and it has to be said was remarkably punctual when she called back.

Leave a comment